Get 11 Indian languages translated by Microsoft 365

Microsoft 365 Translator now has the language Odia (or Oriya), taking the list of Indian languages supported to 11.

in Odia, according to Microsoft ….

Microsoft 365 ଅନୁବାଦକ ବର୍ତ୍ତମାନ ଓଡ଼ିଆ ଭାଷା (କିମ୍ବା ଓଡ଼ିଆ) ଅଛି, ଯାହା ଦ୍ୱାରା 11ଟି ଭାରତୀୟ ଭାଷାର ତାଲିକା ଗ୍ରହଣ କରାଯାଇଛି ।

Microsoft Translator is a cloud-service so Odia is now on the list of available languages automatically.

Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu and now Odia are all included in Microsoft 365 with translation and transliteration support.

According to Microsoft, that list covers 90% of the Indian population.  India has 22 ‘scheduled’ languages plus English as a ‘subsidiary’ official language.  There are many more languages or dialects in the sub-continent.

This only applies to Translation.  Microsoft 365 software, menus, help etc is managed separately.

Is the translation correct?

Machine translations aren’t perfect and newly added languages are often more error prone.

If the translation isn’t right, look for the ‘Was the translation helpful?’ option and click the ‘thumbs down’ button.

Choose the option:

  • Translation is not readable
  • Translation is incorrect
  • Other

Strangely, there’s no option to type a short explanation.

Translate a whole Word document to another language
Google Translate with Office documents
Translate your PowerPoint speech live to multiple languages
Immersive Reader in Teams and Word Online